iPodME news

December 31, 2010 at 1:54 pm 2 comments

I feel right for the last post of the year, with some news on iPodME!

Even though I haven’t released many updates this year, that doesn’t mean I did not worked on it, because big changes are coming for iPodME!

First, on the “current” version: iPodME, in its current form, will receive a final 2.5 update with some features that have been requested: 1080p resolution, and the possibility to unlock the maximum video bitrate, which means better video quality if you need it.

Then, for the big thing, on which I’ve been working for about a year now: a complete rewrite of iPodME from the scratch, but with cross-platform compatibility in mind. And as a good thing do not come alone, here is some features:

– Native UI for each platform (currently, Mac OS and Windows are planned, but Linux may come later also)
– No more based on ffmpeg, but now on mencoder which means more compatibility with existing formats (5.1 audio tracks could now be converted, recent wmv files too, etc)
– Profile-based encoding parameters, which means the video is now really optimized for your device, let it be an Apple TV, an iPhone 4 or an old iPod Video
– Simple interface, with the same ideas: 3 encoding speeds, with 2 possible optimizations: quality or file size
– Complete multicore support!
– Faster encoding, with more quality and smaller resulting files
– Support of multiple soft subtitles and burned-in subtitles
– more…

But there’s a catch (there’s always one). While some people supported my work through donations, and I’m really grateful to them, it’s not even close to allow me to buy a enough to eat everyday. And it was fine, as I was working on iPodME on my free time as a hobby project. But I’ve thinking of starting to live of my work as an independant developer, and the new iPodME would be my first “real” project, hence the complete rewrite. As for now, here’s my plan:

– The current iPodME, will be updated to 2.5 and remain free and open-source🙂

– The new iPodME (let’s say, v3.0) will come to Mac OS on the Mac AppStore early 2011, selling for a small fee (i’ve been thinking of 2.99$)

– As for the new Windows version, I currently don’t know. There’s no easy way like the upcoming Mac AppStore on Windows to sell independant software, and I don’t want to go with some boring protection schemes like serials to allow me selling it. I may just go the donationware way as it is currently, with a small text on the first launch to explain it better. Or I can go the ads way (but I hate ads…). Still not decided…

I hope that I won’t kill the “soul” of iPodME going this way, and that you’ll still love it.

Meanwhile, I wish you the best for 2011. Happy new year!!

Entry filed under: PC Projects. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

iPodME small update iPodME for mac progress

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kiran  |  January 1, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Happy New Year!
    I Was just searching for the best Video converter form my iPhone and i found this..
    Looking forward to the next release..

    Reply
  • 2. Alex  |  March 26, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Ton outils iPod Me est vraiment pratique. J’ai hâte de voir ce que donnera la prochaine version !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Support my projects

Donate with PayPal! (in €)
Donate with PayPal! (in $)

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 903,064 hits

